Photo Books

After the wedding, it was really important to me to have a nicely presented record of the day. Most photographers include an album or photo book as part of their service, but I wanted to have a go at creating my own and I was really pleased with the results.

Our photographer at Newton Photography created a beautiful storybook feel to our wedding and I was really keen to do that justice. I opted for Blurb, a self-publishing website. I wanted to have high quality photos in the book, but I also wanted to be able to tell the story of how my husband proposed to me and relive the wonderful experience of my hen weekend.

Their software was very easy to use and I had a lot of fun adding the photos and arranging them and I was very happy with the results.

I was very impressed with how quickly my book arrived, considering it was coming from Holland and it was a real tome of a book. Unsurprisingly, it was fairly expensive but definitely worth it.

I’m a hoarder of memories so I love keeping old letters, cards and photos. For stylish photo books that are a bit more budget friendly, I can recommend the following:

Snapfish: I made wedding photo books for our respective parents and I was really happy with how they turned out. So much so, I’m quite keen to make one for myself with them.

Their website was very easy to use and had a nice range of photo book styles, themes and sizes. I opted for black damask/stripe backgrounds and the end result was very stylish.

Albelli: I discovered Albelli as a result of voucher codes via our Lovefilm subscription. They were very speedy at making the books and I was happy with the print quality. Considering I only paid the postage, I was very impressed with the service.

Photobox: I’ve had a lot of my photos developed with Photobox and I’ve always been impressed with the quality of the prints. They’re always worth visiting as they often have really good offers on their photo prints and books. You get 40 free prints just for signing up with them.

2 thoughts on “Photo Books

  1. Thanks for the write up. I haven’t made a photo album of anything since studying abroad, and that was years ago. Good info!

  2. Lightfoot Weddings says:

    Thank you for commenting! I’m glad you found the post useful.

Leave a Reply

